FASHION | The results are in....and we've got your Top 5 right here

6 May 2021
Auckland Thoroughbred Racing

New Zealand’s national fashions in the field final, The Ned Prix de Fashion, turned into a virtual competition this season due to the effective cancellation of Vodafone Derby Day as a result of a lockdown in Auckland.

The competition featured 15 finalists from around the country who had each won a qualifying competition at a raceday around New Zealand over the spring / summer.

Competitions were held as far south as Invercargill and as north as Auckland, with another virtual qualifier opening up entries to anywhere in New Zealand.

The finalists had until early May to pull their outfit for The Ned Prix de Fashion together (they also had the choice to wear the outfit they won their regional competition in) and then submit up to five images and an optional video.

Our panel of eight judges from New Zealand and Australia then had the unenviable task of narrowing the field down to five grand finalists.

Today we are pleased to announce who those finalists are (listed in alphabetical order):


  • Abby Button – representing Wellington Racing Club

  • Anna Campbell – representing Auckland Racing Club

  • Eleanor Campbell – representing Auckland Racing Club

  • Laura Campbell – representing Canterbury Jockey Club

  • Sara Allpress – representing Waikato Racing Club


Each of those five women remain in the running to be named ‘Supreme Winner’ and take home the winner-takes-all $20,000 prize package from The Ned and Victoria Racing Club – plus the coveted title of being New Zealand racewear’s national titleholder for the 2020/21 season.

Stay tuned for the announcement of the Supreme Winner of The Ned Prix de Fashion which will follow next week.

What next?

  • To learn more about the judges and The Ned Prix de Fashion, click here

Our thanks to our judges for providing us their time and expertise:

  • Crystal Kimber (AUS) – ​Victoria Racing Club (VRC) Ambassador

  • Jill Humphries (AUS) – award-winning Kiwi milliner now based in Melbourne

  • Carle Rutledge (AUS) – VRC’s 2018 MYER Fashions on the Field National Final winner

  • Carena West (NZ) – ARC ambassador & VRC’s 2019 Myer Fashions on the Field National Final winner

  • Hannah Marinkovich (NZ) – ARC ambassador and NZ’s 2017 Prix de Fashion National Final winner

  • Aleisha Mitchell (NZ) – NZ’s 2019 Prix de Fashion National Final winner

  • Katie O’Neill (NZ) – NZ’s 2020 Prix de Fashion National Final winner

  • Sarah Stuart – Celebrity stylist and make-up artist

And a heartfelt congratulations to all the regional finalists – the judges commented numerous times how high the standard was this year and how difficult it was to select the Grand Finalists (let alone the Supreme Winner!).

Major Partners