The Ned Prix de Fashion: A look back through the years

24 Nov 2019
Auckland Thoroughbred Racing

With New Zealand’s national fashions in the field final, The Ned Prix de Fashion, taking place here at Ellerslie in just a few months, we thought it apt to take a look back at the competition’s winners since its inception in March 2006.


Despite taking place on Vodafone Day Day – one that traditionally calls for a black and white style theme – the competition is open to outfits of any colour (it’s just the spectators who we encourage to go in black & white!) and you’ll see the winners’ colour palettes have been mixed over the years.


The judges are looking for the day’s best dressed and will not mark up (or down!) those entrants who are dressed in colour.



Let’s check out those winners – starting from 2006 – and then you’d better get onto working out what you’re going to wear!

The Ned Prix de Fashion: Winners from 2006 – 2019

Scroll through the gallery to view


Honour Roll

2006 – Ruth Sibald

2007 – Lorraine Cookson

2008 – Pamela Hodge

2009 – Claire Hahn

2010 – Kelli Odell (Aus)

2011 – Tricia Molachino (Aus)

2012 – Marion Farrell

2013 – Claudia Campbell

2014 – Olivia Moor

2015 – Charlotte Moor

2016 – Stacey Hanley

2017 – Hannah Marinkovich (nee Carson)

2018 – Laura Campbell

2019 – Aleisha Mitchell

The Ned Prix de Fashion | Saturday 29 February 2020

Boasting a $20,000 winner-takes-all prize package courtesy of The Ned, Victoria Racing Club and others;PLUS the title of being New Zealand’s best dressed racegoer AND a trip to Melbourne to compete in MYER Fashions on the Field as part of the 2020 Melbourne Cup Carnival, this is the one New Zealand racewear competition you want to win.


What next?


Related articles

Major Partners